• Bach: Magnificat in D
  • Vivaldi: Gloria
  • Vivaldi: Concerto in A minor for 2 violins and strings, Op.3, no. 6
Ali Darragh soprano
Lesley Jane Rogers soprano
Tim Wilson countertenor
Matthew Minter tenor
Craig Bissex bass
Music for Awhile Orchestra (on period instruments)
Maggie Faultless leader
Matthew Owens conductor

Bach's Magnificat is a musical setting of the biblical canticle Magnificat. It is scored for five vocal parts (two sopranos, alto, tenor and bass), and a Baroque orchestra including trumpets and timpani. It is the first major liturgical composition on a Latin text by Bach.

Vivaldi wrote at least three settings of the hymn Gloria in excelsis Deo, whose words date probably from the 4th Century. This is the best known setting of the Gloria, simply known as the Vivaldi "Gloria" due to its outstanding popularity.

The Concerto in A minor is from Vivaldi's Op. 3, a set of 12 concertos for stringed instruments, first published in Amsterdam in 1711. Each concerto was originally printed in eight parts: four violins, two violas, cello and continuo.


Tickets are available to buy now.

View a PDF of the poster by clicking the poster image.

You can also view and download the poster as a graphic version.


Handel: Messiah


  • Amy Carson (soprano)
  • Louise Innes (mezzo soprano)
  • Paul Phoenix (tenor)
  • Craig Bissex (bass)

and Music For Awhile Orchestra (on period instruments)


Tickets are available to buy now.

  • Bernstein: Chichester Psalms in the full orchestra version
  • Rutter: Gloria
  • Barber: Adagio for Strings
  • Copland: Appalachian Spring
  • Copland: Fanfare for the Common Man

Orchestra: Southern Sinfonia

download our brochure.


The society performs three major concerts every season. Our first concert in the season is usually performed in early November. This is followed by our regular opener for Christmas, Handel's Messiah. In the March of the following year we perform a third major concert.

You may also view our past concerts.

Concert Tickets

Tickets for all our concerts can be purchased Online or From Wells Cathedral Box Office.

Directions to Wells Cathedral

Detailed directions can be found on the Wells Cathedral website.

News by Email

You can sign up for occasional news by email here...

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Additional Interests